The Importance of Language and Listening

Watch this video.  What do you think?  

The Gay Christian Network conducted this survey and it reveals some trends that are disturbing to me.  For instance, straight Christians who believe that gay sex is a sin answered the survey in the following ways:

Only 16% said that being gay was not a choice.

78% said that gays can become straight if they want to.

54% said that it’s a sin to be gay even if you never have sex.

 

When I first came across this video two weeks ago, I was both shocked and not shocked at once. Shocked because I was afraid this is what I’d encounter at Calvary Church (it wasn’t), and not shocked because I know there are a lot of people who haven’t had to examine their views on these questions critically, and their answers may reflect that.

Do you agree with the video’s conclusion that we need to define our terms better and listen to each other’s stories to bridge this gap?

Have any of you had to change the ways you would have answered these questions? What caused you to change your mind?

I know these conversations aren’t always done well, but please don’t feel afraid to put yourself out there in the Comment section. I promise to do what I can to keep this blog a safe place to dialogue, even if we disagree.

3 thoughts on “The Importance of Language and Listening

  1. My book club read Torn, by Justin Lee last spring and I am so glad we did. That book really opened my eyes regarding this issue, it answered so many questions for me, I really thought about it and understand so much more now. Thank you Andrew for my continuing education. I don’t think this video has changed my mind about anything, it just makes me sad that so many people cannot see the truth, but perhaps with time and people like you who are not afraid to be honest, more and more Christians will understand and allow the love of Christ to help them see the truth.

    • I read Torn, too, and really enjoyed it. Justin is a very gracious person who does a great job with communicating to people from all sorts of backgrounds and experiences. I got to hear him speak at Calvin last month.

  2. This is one of the saddest things I’ve seen in quite some time. I don’t even have any words right now, having just viewed it. Unfortunately, this is how many in the church treat LGBTQ people. Its so sad and so very frustrating.

Leave a Reply

